Forums >> Programming >> RPG Programming

Jump to:

pizzaguy

Retain input buffer from fields when QINACTITV kicks user from session. CPI1127&PSSR

Posted:

Retain input buffer from fields when QINACTITV kicks user from session. CPI1127&PSSR

I'm still kinda new to the RPG space, and have frequented this forum many times for information. I guess it's time I actually post a question as my research has not led me to a working result yet.

My shop has a strict 20 minute timeout setting for the workstations. Workstations (which have static, unique names) are being kicked (the job is ended, not disconnected) and users are losing input data. The system kicks out a CPI1127 when this happens. They are typing lengthy entries and/or get distracted by phone calls, co-workers, etc. Since they do not press any function keys, rollup/down, or Enter during the time limit, their entries are lost when the system kicks them. (Note: they are being given ten 70 length fields to type data in.)

I was hoping the PSSR can trap the error was have the input field written out to a work file. A CL program will be needed to check in there is any data out in the workfile when the resume the program. This workfile could be cleared each night after hours to avoid left over data. The problem I'm running into is that even after coding a PSSR routine in the program, it isn't executed when the system ends the job. The CPI1127 message can be found in the QSYSOPR queue, but the PSSR doesn't seem to catch this. 

Here is a sample program I wrote to test that theory. The program should write to the XT90 file unless an error occured, then it will write to XT91 instead. 

H OPTION(*NODEBUGIO: *SRCSTMT)
     H DFTACTGRP(*NO)
     H*======================================================================*
     H* DATA LOSS INACTIVITY TEST PROGRAM                                    *
     H*======================================================================*
     F* FILE SPECS